Skip to Content

Warlock Spells List 5e

Warlock Spells List 5e

Warlock spells work somewhat differently compared to other classes, which can make them much harder for new players to run. They are considered full casters because they can eventually learn up to 9th level spells, but don’t be intimidated! Warlocks have certain spells that are handy for all players as we discuss below. 

Pact Magic Slots

Pact Magic is distinct from standard spell slots in several ways. For one thing, they recharge after a short rest. Warlocks receive far fewer Pact Magic slots than a typical full caster because an adventuring day frequently includes one or more short rests to replenish those slots.

Mystic Arcanum

At levels 11, 13, 15, and 17, Warlocks can learn a single spell of the appropriate level (6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th, respectively). This spell can only be cast once per day and does not consume a Pact Magic slot. Once you’ve selected a spell, you can’t change your mind, so choose judiciously.


At level one, Warlocks learn two cantrips. At level 4, they gain a third cantrip, and at level 10, they gain a fourth. It’s worth noting that Pact of the Tome allows you to take three more cantrips from any class. For more information on which cantrips to take, see our other guides.

Eldritch Blast

Given the limited number of spells you can cast per day, even if your party takes frequent short rests, most spell-oriented Warlocks prefer to depend on Eldritch Blast in battle and save their valuable spells for social or utility spells. Several Eldritch Invocations alter your Eldritch Blast, and when combined with Hex, you can be as powerful as a weapon-user.

1st Level

You gain access to 1st level spells at level 1. 

Armor of Agathys

Armor of Agathys is a Warlock-only spell. It provides temporary hit points and extra damage to anyone who hits you with a melee attack, plus it scales well.  


As previously stated, combining Hex with Eldritch Blast can result in significant damage, even at higher levels. There is no save, and you can disadvantage your opponent on one ability for checks. If you select Strength as the ability, your tank will be able to easily grapple the enemy.

2nd Level

You gain access to 2nd level spells at level 3. 


Other than a Shadow Magic Sorcerer, Warlocks are the only ones who can see through spell-created darkness. The Devil’s Sight Eldritch Invocation grants you 120 feet of darkvision and the ability to see through magical darkness. Your allies may not like it, but you can cast darkness while still seeing to attack your enemies. You will benefit from being hidden, while they will suffer.

3rd Level

You gain access to 3rd level spells at level 5. 

Hunger of Hadar

This spell does not scale with level, so you may not want to keep it forever. Having said that, the damage is substantial, causing a combination of difficult terrain and blinding your enemies.

Even if you’re fighting another Warlock, Devil’s Sight won’t let you see through the darkness. It’s an excellent way to keep your enemies in one place if someone else casts Sickening Radiance or Fireball.

4th Level

You gain access to 4th level spells at level 7.

Shadow of Moil

The level of darkness caused by this spell is dependent on your current environment. It reduces the available light by one tier, converting bright light to dim light or dim light to darkness. However, the light dimming effect does not count as magical darkness, so anyone with darkvision can see. Regardless, the spell mentions that you’re heavily obscured from adversaries.

Heavily obscured works in the same way that darkness does, in that you have an advantage on attack rolls and your foes have an advantage on attacks against you.

5th Level

You gain access to 5th level spells at level 9. 

Synaptic Static

This is similar to Fireball in terms of damage, but it requires an Intelligence saving throw, which most opponents are woefully bad at. In addition, if they fail, they must deduct 1d6 from all attack rolls and ability checks for one minute (ten rounds of combat).

6th Level

You gain access to a single 6th level spell at level 11 via Mystic Arcanum. 

Mental Prison

This is a single-target spell, but it is fantastic for immobilizing someone. Monsters’ Intelligence saving throws are frequently poor, and the target cannot see or hear anything outside. They have disadvantage on future saving throws, attack rolls, and ability checks, while you have the upper hand when attacking them.

7th Level

You gain access to a single 7th level spell at level 13 via Mystic Arcanum. 

Plane Shift

While traveling between planes is always exciting, you can also use this spell to eliminate an enemy. Just make sure they can’t plane shift back to you. If you’re keen to have a layover somewhere, plane shift could be used instead of Teleport, but that’s probably not a good option unless you have a safe spot to hide in.

8th Level

You gain access to a single 8th level spell at level 15 via Mystic Arcanum. 


Glibness, like enhance ability, affects all of your Charisma checks, including ability checks with dispel magic and counterspell. This spell, unlike enhance ability, does not rely on rolls. Anyone could roll poorly twice in a row, but with this spell, you can take a flat number and never fail.

Maddening Darkness

If you like Hunger of Hadar, you’ll adore this spell. You create a vast area of magical darkness (that you can see through) with the added benefit of preventing light from spells like Dawn from illuminating the area. Anyone who begins their turn in the dark must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or suffer significant psychic damage.

9th Level

You gain access to a single 9th level spell at level 17 via Mystic Arcanum. 


Every encounter and obstacle is turned into a joke by this spell. You or an ally can see into the future for eight hours. They have advantage on all rolls and all foes have disadvantage when attacking your target. However, it takes a minute to cast, so you can’t use it in the middle of a fight.

Warlock 5e Spells Complete List

Here is a complete list of Warlock 5e Spells in 5th Edition DnD, which also includes some Spells from Unearthed Arcana (UA), which is not official Material.


1st Level Warlock Spells

2nd Level Warlock Spells

3rd Level Warlock Spells

4th Level Warlock Spells

5th Level Warlock Spells

6th Level Warlock Spells

7th Level Warlock Spells

8th Level Warlock Spells

9th Level Warlock Spells